Joanna Karpowicz

Painter, illustrator and comic artist

Dracula Hardcover

To design and create a hardcover book – a classic task at the faculty of book design and typography. I’ve chosen Bram Stoker’s “Dracula”, because…what will make a better hardcover than a wooden coffin?

“There is a reason why all things are as they are.” Bram Stoker, Dracula

Abraham “Bram” Stoker wrote his gothic novel, “Dracula” in 1987. When I read the book for the first time I was in fear of the blood sucking monster. Today I pity Dracula and even sympathize with him sometimes (we tend to have common problem of insomnia).  “Oh, the terrible struggle that I have had against sleep so often of late; the pain of the sleeplessness, or the pain of the fear of sleep, and with such unknown horror as it has for me! How blessed are some people, whose lives have no fears, no dreads; to whom sleep is a blessing that comes nightly, and brings nothing but sweet dreams.” Poor Dracula.

The book, presented on the photos is fully handmade. Typography (not my forte) is simplified. “Scratched” logo-like title appears both on the cover and in the book, on the title page. Illustrations (originally there is about 15 of them) were made with ink on pressed paper. I decided to not to bind them, just left them separated (so they rest in peace). Coffin is made out of plywood, inside I glued it with a silver satin. Dracula Hardcover is pretty old, it was made in 2000.

“Remember my friend, that knowledge is stronger than memory, and we should not trust the weaker” Bram Stoker, Dracula

“I will not let you go into the unknown alone.” Bram Stoker, Dracula

“Listen to them – children of the night. What music they make.” Bram Stoker, Dracula

“Denn die Todten reiten Schnell. (For the dead travel fast)” Bram Stoker, Dracula

“Loneliness will sit over our roofs with brooding wings.” Bram Stoker, Dracula

“We learn from failure, not from success!” Bram Stoker, Dracula

“I am all in a sea of wonders. I doubt; I fear; I think strange things, which I dare not confess to my own soul. God keep me, if only for the sake of those dear to me!” Bram Stoker, Dracula

“There are darknesses in life and there are lights, and you are one of the lights, the light of all lights.” Bram Stoker, Dracula

“The blood is the life!” Bram Stoker, Dracula

 

 

4 comments on “Dracula Hardcover

  1. Ashley Lang
    February 5, 2013

    Do you still have this? Would it be for sale?

    • joannakarpowicz
      February 5, 2013

      Yes, it is still in my atelier and – for sale. If you want to buy it – you can write me: jot.karpowicz@gmail.com
      Best greetings from Cracow,
      Joanna

  2. nokia 808 specification
    April 19, 2013

    Excellent blog you’ve got here.. It’s difficult to find
    quality writing like yours these days. I honestly appreciate individuals like you!
    Take care!!

    • joannakarpowicz
      April 20, 2013

      Thanks a lot! I’m doing my best 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 26, 2000 by in illustration and tagged , , , .

Navigation

