Joanna Karpowicz

Painter, illustrator and comic artist

Anubis, my friend

“Anubis, sipping coffee”, 60 x 90 cm, acrylic on canvas, 2012

Anubis is my friend. He helps me to tame my fears. Three times in my life I’ve witness death from very close, feeling the warmth going out of body, looking at the empty shell that we leave. Each time I was asking myself the very same question as the rest of mankind – where are you now? Where do you go?

I paint Anubis in different settings in hope that one day, he’ll be merciful and tender guide for me. But for now, he is sipping his coffee in a little place at the corner. He is a receptionist in a hotel, waiting for a late night guest to come. He is watching a movie, eating popcorn. He is rowing the boat on a river, giving the passengers a ride on the other side. He is traveling, constantly in a motion. He is going out, for a smoke. He is waiting, at dusk in the garden near the sea.

He is upon his mountain.

“Anubis in a boat”, 53 x 65 cm, acrylic on canvas, 2012

“Anubis with the car”, 46 x 54 cm, acrylic on canvas, 2012

“Anubis at the reception desk”, 60 x 70 cm, acrylic on canvas, 2012

“Anubis on the train”, 50 x 50 cm, acrylic on canvas, 2012

“Anubis, outside for a smoke”, 60 x 70 cm, 2012

“Anubis watching movie”, 54 x 68 cm, acrylic on canvas, 2012

6 comments on “Anubis, my friend

  1. Mike Schultz Paintings
    November 26, 2012

    I love these, Joanna. Your sense of light and setting reminds me of Edward Hopper. Also, the way you handled the water in “Anubis in a boat” is fantastic!

  2. joannakarpowicz
    November 26, 2012

    Thanks Mike, for this great compliment. I could never paint water realistically so this is what I came up 🙂 Something in between 🙂

  3. Wolf Rosenthal
    November 27, 2012

    Hello Joanna. I´m glad to have met you via Facebook. Your mom had sometimes spoken about you, earlier years when we met. Now, I´m pleased to see and watch your activities. I like them. The apple seems to not have fallen far away from its tree. 🙂 And Anubis – ofc – is my friend, too. Maybe, yours and mine will meet eachother, one day? Friendly regards from Frankfurt, Wolf Rosenthal

  4. Pingback: More adventures of Anubis « Joanna Karpowicz

  5. miriam Katin
    July 6, 2014

    Dear Joanna, we are with the same publisher and I just saw your book on their announcement.
    I am truly impressed. Someone likened it to Ed Hopper but for me it is also like Lorenzo Mattotti whom I love and had learned from
    a lot about colors.
    I hope to order Anubis soon.
    Sincerely Miriam Katin, New York.

  6. Miriam Katin
    July 6, 2014

    Hello Joanna, I don’t know what happened to my comment, vanished. Here is some of it again. I just discovered your work, we have the same publisher. Want to they’ll you that I love your work Anubis my Friend in this case. Someone likened your style to Ed Hopper but I think for me it is also like Lorenzo Mattotti whom I love and learned a lot from about cooling.
    Best wishes, Miriam Katin from New York

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 25, 2012 by in acrylic, art, canvas, painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
