Joanna Karpowicz

Painter, illustrator and comic artist

Anubis near The Avon River

"Anubis near The Avon River", 73 x 91 cm, 2013, acrylic on canvas

“Anubis near The Avon River”, 73 x 91 cm, 2013, acrylic on canvas

Anubis travels in time. Here he is, on a picnic with some young friends, near the Avon River.Some might recognise the paysage: The Clifton Suspension Bridge, spanning the Avon Gorge in Bristol. The Georgian terraces of Clifton on the right, the district of Hotwells below them. On the left is Leigh Woods. However it is not a contemporary view,  I was using an old postcard (below) as a reference, probably from the XIX century, judging by the presence of a steam boats on the river.

A frame from the picture

A frame from the picture.

I painted this picture for many reasons.

First; I have a strong connection to rivers. I used to spend a lot of time in kayak as a child, on the fast mountain rivers and slow, wide, deep waters. I really liked this endless paddling with the changing flow. After a while you could feel the river as a living being.

Second; because of the bridge. The Clifton Suspension Bridge, designed by Isambard Kingdom Brunel, was opened in 1864. When I saw the photo of it, for the first time, I fall in love. It is majestic, beautiful and a bit spooky, fits perfectly with the scenery. Not a big surprise it has a reputation as a suicide bridge.

And last but not least; someone, a fellow artist, reminded me of  Seurat’s “Un dimanche après-midi à l’Île de la Grande Jatte”, one of my favorite pictures.

6 comments on “Anubis near The Avon River

  1. Kevin
    January 27, 2013

    Wonderful! And who could this “fellow artist” be? Hmmmm 😉 x

    • joannakarpowicz
      January 27, 2013

      Hmmm. A philosopher by day, percussionist by night. Or the other way 😀

      • Kevin
        January 28, 2013

        Anyway works! The thing is, I’m not really an artist at all. If I am it is in the art of fooling people into thinking I am. Haha the best form of art of them all! Moahahaha!!!!!!

      • joannakarpowicz
        January 29, 2013

        Huh. Modest, authoironic musician. That’s something new 🙂

        Wysłane z iPada

  2. Mike Schultz Paintings
    January 27, 2013

    Beautiful painting, Joanna. I love the atmosphere that you have captured in this one. When I first saw the painting and then the photo I was immediately struck by how beautiful and eerie that bridge looks. It’s very elegant, but there is also something strange about it too. What is it about that bridge? Do you think your time on the water in a kayak contributed to your interest in painting light upon water?

    • joannakarpowicz
      January 27, 2013

      Thank you Mike. You know, you might be right about the light upon water. As a child I was to small to steer and to light to seat on the back seat of kayak. My part was to observe the water ahead and to help navigating. You can read a lot from the mirror of water, I’ve learned on my own mistakes. The light can be so misleading. Also beautiful. I guess it is still there, in my memories, I’m trying to interpret it in the best possible way.

      The bridge is eerie, indeed, that is just the right word. It is asymmetric a bit, left tower is different than the other. But I guess it’s the total vibe it gives, metaphysical 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 27, 2013 by in acrylic, art, canvas, painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
