Joanna Karpowicz

Painter, illustrator and comic artist

Quiet.

IMG_3429

The Team of Individualities. Zakynthos, Tsilivi / 2013

Esychia – ησυχία means “quiet” in Greek. But it can also be understood as “peace”.
I’ve never been to Greece before, untill this year. The gallery from Warsow I cooperate with (Galeria Stalowa) organised the two weeks artistic stay on Zakynthos, greek island on Ionian Sea. 11 painters from Poland were invited: Waldemar Kuczma, Piotr Błażejewski, Arek Karapuda, Jola Nitka, Zdzisław Nitka, AnnBlue – Ania Brudzińska, my sister – Katarzyna Karpowicz, Grzegorz Szymerkowski, Berenika Kowalska, Roch Urbaniak and me. We had fun, some creative concepts were born, some friendships had started. There will also be an exhibition devoted to this adventure, on October in Galeria Stalowa.

Those two weeks made me hungry for more of Greece, I fell in love with the air, colors, smells and the sea, most of all the sea. It wasn’t easy though, to encounter this beauty because of omnipotent tourism, all inclusive hell. But I was looking for my peace, my esychia and I’ve found it.

"Esychia versus all inclusive hell", gouaches on paper, 2013

“Esychia versus all inclusive hell”, gouaches on paper, 2013

Last day, before going to the airport, in 35 degrees of Celsius, I decided I need to leave something behind. A little street art. Here it is.

IMG_3935

IMG_3936

IMG_3937

IMG_3938

IMG_3940

IMG_3941

IMG_3944

IMG_3945

IMG_3946

IMG_3948

IMG_3952

IMG_3953

IMG_3956

IMG_3958

IMG_3961

IMG_3962

IMG_3967

IMG_3968

2 comments on “Quiet.

  1. Mike Schultz Paintings
    July 24, 2013

    Beautiful work– love the street art!

  2. Pingback: The summer is gone, friends stay | Joanna Karpowicz

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 22, 2013 by in acrylic, art, object, painting and tagged , , , , , , , .
