Joanna Karpowicz

Painter, illustrator and comic artist

UFO over the Ionian Sea

UFO over the Ionian Sea, composition, 4 x 30 x 40 cm, acrylic on canvas, 2013

UFO over the Ionian Sea, composition, 4 x 30 x 40 cm, acrylic on canvas, 2013

“Pois eisai? She wanted to know. Pou pas? The old Homeric questions of the Greek peasant. Who art thou? Where goest thou?”

The Magus, novel by John Fowles (1965) tells the story of Nicholas Urfe, a teacher in a private school on a small Greek island, Phraxos. I took this book with me to Greece on June this year. While I was reading it, more and more hypnotized by Fowles writing, I realized how weirdly this book corresponds with my current life’s events.

I’ve found myself a silent hideout in the shadows of olive orchard on the hill and when I came till the end of the book, certain reflections, emotions and feelings appeared to me, suddenly.  Just like the greek islands sometimes seem to appear from now where when mist raises from the sea.

The series of pictures with UFO over the Ionian Sea is poorly related to the book, but very related to the mood I was in during those painting workshops on Zakynthos, organized on this summer by Galeria Stalowa from Warsow.  Those four are to be seen in GS on the group exhibition (October, 2013).

Afternoon UFO_30x40cm_2013_s

Morning_UFO_30x40cm_2013_s

After storm UFO_30x40cm_2013_s

Evening UFO_30x40cm_2013_s

 

One comment on “UFO over the Ionian Sea

  1. Pingback: The summer is gone, friends stay | Joanna Karpowicz

Leave a Reply

