Joanna Karpowicz

Painter, illustrator and comic artist

Pin-up Alice

Here is three illustrations of my Pin-up Alice series, inspired by Lewis Carroll’s ALICE’S ADVENTURES IN WONDERLAND. I love the story and Wonderland’s atmosphere. I also like vintage pin-up art very much, it is sexy, yet in a way sweet and innocent. My Alice’s are not that lost, as the original one and a bit more sophisticated. To tell the truth I’ve always had a feeling that Carroll was writing for a bit more mature reader.

I made those illustrations with my favorite technique: acrylics on textured canvas paper. Also, as I believe that music and pictures go hand in hand I would highly recommend you to follow “The White Rabbit” while reading this post.

“One side will make you grow taller, and the other side will make you grow shorter.” One side of WHAT? The other side of WHAT?’ thought Alice to herself. “Of the mushroom,” said the Caterpillar, just as if she had asked it aloud; and in another moment it was out of sight.”

"Mushroom Alice" / "Pin-up series, 42 x 29,7 cm

“Mushroom Alice” / “Pin-up series, 42 x 29,7 cm

“Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?”
“That depends a good deal on where you want to get to,” said the Cat.
“I don’t much care where –” said Alice
“Then it doesn’t matter which way you go,” said the Cat.
“– so long as I get somewhere,” Alice added as an explanation.
“Oh, you’re sure to do that,” said the Cat, “if you only walk long enough.”

"Autumn Alice (with The Cat)" / "Pin-up series, 42 x 29,7 cm

“Autumn Alice (with The Cat)” / “Pin-up series, 42 x 29,7 cm

“Who are YOU?” said the Caterpillar.
This was not an encouraging opening for a conversation. Alice replied, rather shyly, ‘I—I hardly know, sir, just at present—at least I know who I WAS when I got up this morning, but I think I must have been changed several times since then.’
“What do you mean by that?” said the Caterpillar sternly. “Explain yourself!”
“I can’t explain MYSELF, I’m afraid, sir” said Alice, “because I’m not myself, you see.”
“I don’t see,” said the Caterpillar.
“I’m afraid I can’t put it more clearly,” Alice replied very politely, “for I can’t understand it myself to begin with; and being so many different sizes in a day is very confusing.”

"Hookah Alice" / "Pin-up series, 42 x 29,7 cm

“Hookah Alice” (golden) / “Pin-up series, 42 x 29,7 cm

If I brought you back to Wonderland you can refresh your memory of the book at the Gutenberg Project.

UPDATE: now those Beauties are for sale at Artkomiks.pl:

http://artkomiks.pl/pin-up-hookah-alice
http://artkomiks.pl/pin-up-mushroom-alice
http://artkomiks.pl/pin-up-autumn-alice

 

 

2 comments on “Pin-up Alice

  1. mysketchbookproject
    July 1, 2014

    These are awesome!

  2. wolfrosenthal@web.de
    July 1, 2014

    So good to see and read this, Joanna ! Love your girls! Wolf

    Gesendet: Dienstag, 01. Juli 2014 um 08:27 Uhr Von: "Joanna Karpowicz" <comment-reply@wordpress.com> An: wolfrosenthal@web.de Betreff: [New post] Pin-up Alice

    joannakarpowicz posted: "Here is three illustrations of my Pin-up Alice series, inspired by Lewis Carroll's ALICE'S ADVENTURES IN WONDERLAND. I love the story and Wonderland's atmosphere. I also like vintage pin-up art very much, it is sexy, yet in a way sweet and innocent. My Al"

Leave a Reply

