Joanna Karpowicz

Painter, illustrator and comic artist

MFKiG 2014

Festival's catalogue - with chosen works from the competition and VIP badge. Hell, yeah - very useful badge.

Festival’s catalogue – with chosen works from the competition and VIP badge. Hell, yeah – very useful badge.

MFKiG (International Festival of Comic and Games)  is the biggest comic event in Poland. This edition was special because of the 25th anniversary. My memory doesn’t reach that far, but I remember the year 2002, my first time with this event when I was dragging a big black file with me, filled up with drawings. A year later I’ve published my first comic album: “Szminka” (script by Jerzy Szyłak).

Today’s MFKiG does not resemble the niche event from 2002. From two years it takes place in Atlas Arena – a city stadium in Lodz. It still contains a huge element of improvisation – but it brings more and more people, so – good for us – comic artists.

P1030268

Despite of the fact that MFKiG became a full blown commercial event it is still the time for friends – other creators, publishers, crazy fans. Oh, how I appreciate this! Some of those people I only see face to face once a year and I really enjoy to talk to them. It’s fun, an inspiration and a motivational kick. A great boost for my creativity. Thanks Guys!

P1030370

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 21, 2014 by in comic, event and tagged , , , , .
