Joanna Karpowicz

Painter, illustrator and comic artist

One illustration

 

P1030624

So this is a short story of an illustration for the children book, written by Przemek Wechterowicz.  The illustrated text is about a little girl in Japan, saying goodbye to the main hero – a shoe. I needed to place the girl on a boat and give the location a specific, traditional look. I’ve used a photo reference from Hakone. You can see a famous Torii gate at the second plan. I’ve used a light table to make a basic underpainting.

P1030630

Then I’ve applied a basic color scheme. I wanted to keep the light tones on (better for printing). I like painting water, it always blinks and shines.

P1030633

With this under painting I’ve started to work on lights and shades. I’ve added a bit more of a detail.

P1030637

P1030636

I like to use crayons on acryl – when it’s dry.

P1030642

And the final result is…

Strona z tekstem_23,6 x 28,7 cm_Ostatnia podmorska podroz_draft_1

 

One comment on “One illustration

  1. Richard Guest
    October 21, 2014

    Wonderful!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 21, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .
