Joanna Karpowicz

Painter, illustrator and comic artist

Update on “what’s up”

kwiecien 2015

After a chaotic winter devoted to various commercial and non-commercial projects, The Spring came. Some projects are cancelled or temporarily hanged for a moment, like “The Robotz” (story written by Phill Hall).

Now I just got two big projects on my plate.

First one is still unfinished “Anastasia”, a comic album, written by Magdalena Lankosz. First part (80 pages) is about to be finished before the Summer.This project takes waaay to long to be finished – unfortunately my technique (acrylic on canvas paper) is very time consuming and I’m still learning how to get the best out of it. Fortunately our future publisher is patient enough to wait.

Here you have a sample – a moody splash page from the “Anastasia”.

Anastazja_35P_lev

Second one is an interesting and involving participation in a creative process for the new movie by Borys Lankosz, film director (and Magda’s husband). The movie is entitled “Ciemno, prawie noc” and it bases on the book with the same title, written by Joanna Bator – awarded Polish writer.

I am responsible for storyboards and moodboards and everything is a big secret, so – I have nothing to show at the moment :).

And – since I can’t live without “just painting” I’ve started with my new series, entitled; “Do you like magic?” – devoted to mysteries and tricks, ectoplasm and hypnosis.

"Do you like magic?", 38 x 46 cm, acrylic on canvas, 2015

“Do you like magic?”, 38 x 46 cm, acrylic on canvas, 2015

That’s all folks!

Keep your thumbs for me, pls!

One comment on “Update on “what’s up”

  1. Wolf Rosenthal
    April 20, 2015

    I ❤ MAGIC! (Y)

Leave a Reply

